Nashua Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
Most states require all drivers to obtain auto insurance for their vehicles to protect their vehicle, themselves, and other individuals on the road. However, in New Hampshire, drivers aren’t required to buy auto insurance. Because of this, many accidents in New Hampshire are caused by uninsured motorists, which can lead to confusion about who to obtain compensation from in the wake of an auto accident.
If you have been involved in an uninsured car accident in Nashua, you’ll want to consult with an experienced Nashua criminal defense lawyer immediately following the accident to represent you against any liability, especially if you caused any injuries.
Financial Responsibility Law of New Hampshire
Although drivers aren’t explicitly required in New Hampshire to carry auto insurance, the law does require you to furnish proof of financial responsibility. This means that drivers need to prove they are able to cover the expenses of any damages incurred in an accident if they’re involved in the accident.
Drivers also must have the ability to cover the $25,000 minimum for the bodily injury or death of any individual and the $50,000 minimum for the bodily injury or death of more than one individual. They must also be able to pay a minimum of $25,000 compensation for any property damage they caused.
Generally, this financial responsibility requirement is fulfilled through auto insurance, but drivers do have other ways in which they can prove they can cover the expenses of any damages they’re liable for. However, some individuals will try to forego this financial responsibility and drive their motor vehicles without any way of compensating someone else. This can turn into a legal case that requires the representation of a Nashua criminal defense attorney.
What Occurs If You Don’t Have Auto Insurance and You Cause a Car Accident?
Car accidents by themselves are already a stressful and intimidating experience, but they can be even more so when you’re not properly insured. If you injure someone or cause property damage while driving uninsured or without the proper coverage in Nashua, what happens?
In this instance, it’s advisable that you reach out immediately to an experienced Nashua driving without insurance lawyer to represent you if a lawsuit is filed against you for damages.
Just because there aren’t any mandatory laws for car insurance in New Hampshire, doesn’t mean that you can’t be held liable for the damages or injuries caused by the car accident that you caused. If you caused the accident, you could be found at fault and the other involved party can pursue an injury claim and seek compensation. And without auto insurance or funds that you’ve saved as your duty to the financial responsibility law, this can become quite costly, unless you can prove you weren’t negligent. Either way, you’ll still require the help of a skilled driving without insurance lawyer to stand by your side and fight for your rights.
Consequences of Driving in New Hampshire Without Auto Insurance
If you are driving uninsured and cause an accident, the state of New Hampshire could suspend your vehicle registration and your driver’s license until you file an SR-22 form and pay for any damages. The SR-22 form shows proof that you’ve bought auto insurance. The following coverages are the most basic policy you’re able to purchase in New Hampshire:
- Bodily injury liability equaling $25,000 per individual
- Bodily injury liability equaling $50,000 per accident
- Property damage coverage equaling $25,000
You must also report the car accident in an accident report to the Bureau of Financial Responsibility. You’ll then get a notification about your suspension and details on how you can reinstate your privileges to drive. If you caused the car crash and the other party files a lawsuit to sue you, then your license and driving privileges will stay suspended until you pay for the damages. Essentially, you’ll be responsible for compensating the other party for the amount of basic auto insurance coverage.
Not Having Insurance vs. Not Being Able to Prove You Have Insurance
Not having auto insurance or the ability to prove you have auto insurance are two separate types of violations. If you are insured but can’t prove it at the scene of the accident, you’ll be charged with an administrative violation. This is similar to receiving a ticket for not wearing a seatbelt. Fortunately, New Hampshire doesn’t cite drivers for not being able to show proof of insurance as long as they do submit proof at a later date.
Driving with no auto insurance is a much more serious offense with more severe penalties. Along with the legal consequences you’ll have to face, when you do obtain coverage, you can expect your policy’s premium to go up. If you’re involved in a car accident and you were driving without auto insurance, you’ll be cited and you’ll face the penalties of driving without auto insurance, regardless if it was your fault or not.
If you were the at-fault party to the accident and you don’t have auto insurance, you’ll be required to pay all the damages on your own out of your own pocket. The penalties and damages can be steep and you’ll want to have an experienced driving without insurance lawyer by your side with good negotiation skills.
Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Nashua Today
When facing a lawsuit and charges related to an uninsured motor vehicle offense, it’s critical that you know your rights and the importance of having strong representation from an experienced criminal defense attorney. Trying to handle your case on your own when you face charges could cause you to face the full extent of criminal charges and penalties.
Our driving without insurance lawyers at Shepherd & Hayes, PLLC are skilled and experienced in helping our clients with any charges and penalties they may face. We may be able to help you reduce or mitigate the charges against you. Call us at (603) 233-1626 or fill out our contact form on our website to schedule your free consultation and see how we can help you with your driving without insurance claim.